Bag project completed

My Trifecta

My Trifecta

Well, I get to cross one of my goals off of my 2011 list: I made a new purse! I’ve had the Trifecta pattern by StudioKats for 3 years, and finally got around to putting one together.

It took me the better part of a weekend to get it done, but I found the pattern to be easy enough to follow. The instructions were broken down into baby steps – lots of them, but each one was easy to accomplish. There were some moments of doubt and confusion and I was sure I was going to end up with a mess, but I just kept chugging and it all come out right in the end.

I’m very pleased with the way it turned out. I love the fabric I chose. I love the three compartments, and I especially love the fact that the middle is zippered and that the outside compartments can be closed with the magnetic snap. But, alas, it is not quite the perfect bag.

The three pockets of the Trifecta

The three pockets of the Trifecta.

I want a bag that will hold the stuff I like to have with me all the time (wallet, first-aid kit, hand sanitizer, etc.), plus have flexible space for a thermos and day planner (yes, I still use a paper planner) for work.

This bag is so, so close! The two outside pockets hold the planner and thermos perfectly, but when they’re loaded up, the middle pocket is too squished to hold the day-to-day necessities. I also like to carry my bags cross-body – it really is better for your back – and these straps are too short for that.

The middle, zippered pocket is too squished when the other pockets are holding the thermos and planner.

The middle, zippered pocket is too squished.

When I get a few more goals out of the way, I want to come back and make another bag that’s about 2 inches bigger all around and modified so it can be worn cross-body. That might do the trick. In the meantime, I’ll continue to use my old purse and use my new Trifecta as an additional bag for the extra stuff I take in to work.

As another note: my daughters decided that this pattern would make a great lunch bag, and each wants her own. I just hope it’s not another three years before I can get around to it.

1 Comment

Filed under 2011 goals

One response to “Bag project completed

  1. Pingback: 2011 Goal Update – March | Crazy Patch

Leave a Reply

