Word for 2017

My word for 2017  is “Abundance.” For me, this means that I will approach life with the assumption that there will be more where this comes from: that I do have time enough to do the things that are important to me, that I do have enough stuff, that Sierra Trading Post will send more coupons, and that I really don’t have to hoard a year’s worth of Trader Joe’s Fireworks chocolate bars.

It means that I am grateful for what I have, but I won’t worry about it running out. Worry about future scarcity is stressful, and can lead to some irrational choices: do I really need to store that old futon frame? Futon frames are easy to come by. Why am I afraid to cut into that gorgeous fabric? There are new, beautiful fabric designs introduced all the time.

I’m lucky enough to be in a place where I shouldn’t have to feel like I have to grasp at and hoard stuff out of fear.

This attitude of abundance can manifest in many ways. For starters, I will not buy any new books or clothing in 2017. I have plenty of both. Feeling like I must buy something now because it is on sale and won’t be available later is a false sense of scarcity. If I happen across something I really like, I can take a picture, post it to Pinterest, or otherwise document it. I don’t need to own it – at least not right away. When the time comes to buy something new, I can shop using those notes. It’ll be like shopping from a store where I want everything instead of trying to sift for a golden nugget among chaff.

At work, I will get over the feeling that there isn’t enough of me to go around. I do have enough time and energy to take on those projects with potential impact. If I let go of the time-consuming chores that aren’t really paying off, there’s plenty of time.

In my world, food is abundant; I do not have to eat when I am not hungry. There will always be another tasty treat. I can go get a donut whenever I want. I do not have to eat one just because it shows up at work. Only eat it if I’m specifically seeking it.

I hope that approaching life with an attitude of abundance will inspire me to be more generous, and more open. I hope that by acting as if there will always be plenty, I will consume and waste less. I look forward to seeing where else this attitude can make a difference in my life.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.